Posted in Boom! Studios, Comic reviews, Comics

‘Big Trouble in Little China’ Comicbook review By Hank Van Hawkins

This ain't your daddy's Kurt Russell Big Trouble. Ok, may be it is. And, maybe that's what made it great.
This ain’t your daddy’s Kurt Russell Big Trouble. Ok, may be it is. And, maybe that’s what made it great.

Big Trouble in Little China Comic Book review

Including 5 page preview of issue #6

   Whew this is a cool title. I loved the movie as a kid and nothing excites me more than picking up where a story left off via comic book or sequel to see what became of our heroes and protagonists.  Despite the dialogue being sparse in places, the artwork functions well in telling the story.  I have to tell you I was exited before even opening the book. Although it took me a bit to warm up to the idea, because at first glance it appears to be a novelty to sling some comic books. However, that being said, the stories flow well and it fed my curiosity without totally satisfying my hunger for more.  Also, all the characters from the movie are all still accounted for and now find themselves delving deeper and deeper into the dark side of Little China.

    Obviously this is for fans of the movie. On the flip side though this title could easily convince a comic book reader to want to seek out the movie if they had never seen it before. So, its appeal works to a two pronged effect. Essentially extending the stories from where the movie left off while at the same time being a real hearty promotion for the movie itself. It is a cult classic as it is and has already proven to have a healthy shelf life. Although I had my doubts before reading it, I have to say that it feels like a well executed idea. I know I am anxious to check into the first four issues now. Not to mention I am going to keep a close eye on where they keep going with the stories and arcs. Because they still have the same enemies as in the movie, they have introduced a lot of new strange and weird characters that are both friends and foes to their cause.

I am more than pleasantly surprised by the voracity of the title to do such a thing as picking up where the movie left off or simply just exploring the world created by the movie quite a bit more. I am suggesting this as a read for fans of the movie by all means, but I am also recommending it to comic readers to check out at least an issue and take a little peek inside of this very unique and creatively built world.  The main hero in the story to me is Wang, and he remains intact and still at the side of our favorite wannabe hero Jack Burton and they are both still on the run from the Lords of Death.  It’s an action packed comic and sure not to disappoint you, regardless of how big a fan you are of the movie.  The only other thing I want to express is that Jack Burton’s smart mouth and over the top attitude carry over from the big screen to the small page without missing a sarcastic beat.

Hank Van Hawkins

Want to know more about Big Trouble in Little China? Have click the link in the previous sentence, and read below for a 5-page preview with a couple variant covers.

 

BigTroubleInLittleChina06_coverC
Here is another of the variant covers for the comic

BigTroubleInLittleChina06_PRESS-4 BigTroubleInLittleChina06_PRESS-5 BigTroubleInLittleChina06_PRESS-6 BigTroubleInLittleChina06_PRESS-7 BigTroubleInLittleChina06_PRESS-8 BigTroubleInLittleChina06_PRESS-9

Author:

My name is Hank Van Hawkins and I am a writer, poet, songwriter and singer and around the DFW and greater North Texas area I can be seen playing my songs in the band The Hazardous Dukes. To me there is not alot out there that ( I find more pleasure in) is any better than playing and making music with my friends, other than playing games, reading books and comics, and sharing opinions on such with one other! That's the reason I have so much fun taking part in our podcast Songwriters on Baseball. Because once we get started talking all sorts of things and interests come to light amid our conversations among our many friends within many a creative field we have as special guests. With baseball being merely the tip of the iceberg or simply the snowflake that gives rise to an avalanche of conversation and opinion. Uncovering the creative within everything. I am a collector at heart as well. Having been raised this way by my father who is a original board gamer and collector of many things, baseball cards, board games and antique toys included. So early on in life I was implored to do the same as my love of all things baseball, gaming and collectibles took shape with board games, comics, and baseball cards of my own. As I have aged my tastes in collectibles have grown exponentially. I graduated high school with a major in Radio. My senior year was spent doing the morning show at Mesquite school sponsored radio station KEOM 88.1 FM. So I have always had an affinity for talking and sharing my opinions as it is. It is my passion not only being creative all the time but constantly taking creative things in that are created by others whether it be art, literature, Film, Television, poetry and the culinary arts as well. In fact I appreciate the fact anything in this world can be undertaken with a creative aim and it helps to spread its influence when it is not only genuine butuniquely creative and considerate to the human condition. So it makes sense that I enjoy sharing my latest fascinations and interests with interested listeners. I read quite a bit and I feel like every book has a absolute truth to share with the reader. I feel the same ties bind me to my love of music. That connection is also very apparent in the world of comic books and always has been. There is a strong connection between the creative and the enlightened. It is my duty to not only share my passions but my opinions in hope they can both become better rounded with time. Not to mention the hopes that a positive impact will be made on our listener's as they too seek to expand their creative knowledge about popular culture and the creative arts well worn place within it. Not to mention I get my competitive juices flowing very easily when we start to talk about Baseball which is my favorite sport of all time. Now I get a platform with which to share my opinions on the integrity and future of the game without hesitation. Basically the podcast affords me a luxury of sharing my tastes and opinions with our guests as well as anyone else willing to listen. We have something for everyone .

Leave a Reply

