Rachel Rising: The Shadow of Death review by The Black Sparrow

‘Delayed Reaction’

Review of Rachel Rising: The Shadow of Death

Introduction to our new writer The Black Sparrow

 

The elegant and subtle cover for Rachel Rising Vol.1
The elegant and subtle cover for Rachel Rising Vol.1

So, the other day I was chatting with Richard about his blog and this comic he had recently given me for my birthday, and he had the great idea to suggest I write a review. Um, A few reasons why that is more challenging than “great” I’ll do that:

a) I’ve probably read, glanced at or purused as many comics in my life as a typically reviewer in the industry has read, digested and obsessed over in a week.

b) The last time I sat down to write something for the reading pleasure of others was when typing was accompanied by a “zip… ding!” sound. And lastly (although I am sure, during the course of this communication, you will unearth other reasons…)

c) Rachel Rising isn’t new or current or on-trend. Ok, wait, I take that back. Hot gal rising from the dead could very well be considered on-trend. But it certainly ain’t new in this world of streaming news with 2 second content updates.

So, there you have it.  Still with me?

First thing I did after Richard suggested I write this review was wait several days, then I remembered I gave myself a week’s deadline, and so next I looked up the artist Terry Moore, who I have some history with when I read his ‘Strangers in Paradise’ series some years ago. [Ahem. I’m sincerely hoping my Editor will fix my “that should be bold not quoted, underlined not italicized” errors. Hint Hint.] Editor’s note: I did indeed “fix” it with the thingies that are close to quotation marks. We use our own methods and writing style here at ‘Fear and Gaming in New Vegas.’ We use italics to indicate when there is an editor’s note. 🙂 Back to the review.

Actually, if memory serves, I devoured that particular series when freshly out of the house & toying with a somewhat-difficult-to-label relationship. Flash forward almost 20 years and I find myself in a comic shop with my dude, a fan and the aforementioned writer, editor & bloggerer. (shhh, I’m sure that is a word somewhere.) Editors noteThat is not a word, but allowed just the same. I see Rachel Rising. I like it.  I don’t buy it. Not unusual for me, but that’s something to discuss in a different forum- Perhaps a sofa. Anyway. Flash forward again to one Year Later… and I have ‘Rachel Rising: The Shadow of Death‘ in hand.

First off, and you will see this is any review ever written of Terry Moore, the man knows how to draw a gal. It  is immediately apparent that these gals have (gasp!) not spent their short well-drawn lives waist-training in torture corsets. They have hips, thighs, arms, and adorable button noses. They have stomachs. Not teeny rib bones that can miraculously lift up size 36EE boobs in a single bound, but stomachs that seem like they belong on bodies not Q-tips. And boobs that have encountered gravity without the secret weapon of female comic art everywhere: the magic-conic bra that forms breasts into perfect pert parts of unattainable glory. This alone makes me praise the art, however Moore’s talent doesn’t rely on body-positive realism alone. For me, his art was user-friendly with a ridiculous attention to detail that complimented the story vs. confusing it.

However, who am I to review a comic’s artwork or story arch? A layman. A person with absolutely zero “geek” cred, aside from my Marvel undershirt I wear to make my guy think I look hot. So that’s my slant. A comic for the uninitiated. A comic for your partner that doesn’t really “get” it but appreciates you for it.  A comic for your friend that likes your fandom posts or ‘lols’ your superhero memes, but shares yoga grrrl links more than IGN.  (Not to say this comic isn’t for die-hard fans… even in my limited research, I saw plenty of raves from those in the know!)  He or she will dig the characters, the simplicity in the drawing and the storyline that blurs zombie-esque undead with real world problems of bourgeois b.s. in the bathroom. They may miss the nuisance of textures, the brilliance of not overdrawing the scene in every panel and the organized structure that progresses-not just that immediate scene, but also the overall story.  But it won’t matter.  Because chances are, they will be hooked and you’ll get to claim another convert-notch on your belt.

 

-The BS (That’s Ms. Sparrow to you)

 

 

Written by

Terry Moore

Art by

Terry Moore

Genres

Horror Leading Ladies Supernatural/Occult Suspense

About Book

Page Count

152 Pages

Print Release Date

March 28 2012

Digital Release Date

April 4 2012

Age Rating

15+ Only

Copyright

Terry Moore.

Leave a Reply

